Firefly Aerospace Inc. (“Firefly”), headquartered in Austin, TX, is committed to providing economical and convenient access to space for small payloads through the design, manufacture and operation of reliable launch vehicles. The Firefly team addresses the market's need for flexible access to space with a “simplest/soonest” approach to technology selection. Firefly launch vehicles embody the insights of a diverse design team and leverage commercial off–the–shelf (COTS) components, manufactured by suppliers across the United States, to reduce risk, maximize reliability and minimize development time.

Led by CEO Tom Markusic and a team of space industry veterans, Firefly is majority owned by Noosphere Ventures, the strategic venture arm of Noosphere Global, which has the resources to independently and fully fund Firefly through first launch. Firefly is on track to deliver a US solution for the 1,000 to 4,000 kg payload class to LEO by 2019 for a starting price of $15M. Firefly is committed to doing its part to restore U.S. leadership in the small to medium launch market, and is establishing international offices and strategic partnerships to effectively serve the global market.

Austin, TX, USA

The Team

Advisory Board

  • Jeff Bingham

    Jeff Bingham

    Brings nearly 40 years of governmental experience to Firefly. Instrumental in shaping space station policy, he served most recently as the senior advisor on space for the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation. He was previously the associate administrator for NASA’s Office of Legislative Affairs. Jeff played a key role in ensuring continued congressional support for the ISS as the legislative coordinator for the International Space Station program.

  • Deborah James

    Deborah Lee James

    Brings 30 years of knowledge and national security experience from both the federal government and private sectors. James served as Secretary of the Air Force from 2013-2017. Prior to that she was President of the Technical and Engineering Sector for Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC) and Assistant Secretary of Defense for Reserve Affairs. James has also held Director/Advisor roles in many prominent organizations such as Bain & Co, LeanIn.Org, Unisys, Textron, and MIT Lincoln Laboratory.

  • Robert M. Lightfoot, Jr.

    Robert M. Lightfoot, Jr.

    Had a long and distinguished NASA career. Currently the President of LSINC in Huntsville, AL, Robert served as the Associate Administrator and Chief Operating Officer of NASA, the Agency’s highest ranking civil servant, from 2012 until his retirement in 2018. During that time, he also served as the longest running Acting Administrator in NASA history from January 2017 until April 2018. Prior to his appointment, Robert held other prominent positions, including Director of the NASA Marshall Space Flight Center and Manager of the NASA Space Shuttle Propulsion Office.

  • George Nield

    George Nield

    Has played a critical role in opening space to private industry. As head of the Federal Aviation Administration’s Office of Commercial Space Transportation, he was responsible for ensuring public safety during all commercial launches and reentries. Previously, George served as manager of the Space Shuttle program flight integration office at NASA Johnson Space Center and as Senior Scientist at the Orbital Sciences Corporation. He holds a Ph.D. in Aeronautics and Astronautics and is a Flight Test Engineering graduate of the United States Air Force Test Pilot School.

  • William F. Readdy

    William F. Readdy

    Is a veteran astronaut who flew on Space Shuttle missions STS-42, STS-51 and STS-79. He served as NASA Associate Administrator for Space Flight Operations, which had oversight for the Johnson, Kennedy, Marshall and Stennis Space Centers as well as program oversight for International Space Station, Space Shuttle, Space Communications and Space Launch Vehicles. Following retirement from NASA in 2005, Readdy has served on the boards of several publicly traded, non-profits and aerospace and technology startups, and served as a chairman of the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport at Wallops Island, Virginia until 2016.

Senior Management

  • Leo Sipich

    Leo Sipich

    Vice President of Avionics
  • Les Kovacs

    Les Kovacs

    Vice President of business development
  • Shea Ferring

    Shea Ferring

    Mission Integration Director
  • Joel Waldrum

    Joel Waldrum

    Test site director
  • Kevin Griffiths

    Kevin Griffiths

    Director of production
  • Jeff Duncan

    Jeff Duncan

    Director of structures
  • Brad Obrocto

    Brad Obrocto

    Director of launch operations
  • Gary Lantz

    Gary Lantz

    Director of systems engineering and stage systems
  • Eric Salwan

    Eric Salwan

    Director of commercial business development
  • John Isella

    John Isella

    Director of international business development
  • Pete Starnes

    Pete Starnes

    It director